Entrelac Lotus

May 22, 2011 at 12:16 pm 2 comments

All the blog gurus say that it’s important to write about what people want to read.  Since I’ve only had one comment and no other way to communicate with you, I looked at my search terms.  So far, four people have found my blog via search and they’ve searched for the following:

  • channel islands knitting illegal fishing
  • opposites crafts
  • how to do an entrelac square
  • how to make single crochet enterlac
I think the first comes from a funny fact I Re-Tweeted on twitter: (RT @LionBrandYarn Apparently it’s illegal for men to knit during fishing season on the Channel Islands) and the second is for a treasury I created, but I don’t have a lot more to say about either of those.  Entrelac though, I can talk about that!  I still haven’t tried single crochet entrelac because I’ve been busy with tunisian entrelac projects.

I finished my vase cover:
Upcycled Vase Crochet cover

And started the full size bag:
Tunisian Entrelac Crochet Bag

I’ve also been thinking about a future entrelac project.  Browsing Etsy and Ravelry I’ve seen some cool crochet banners and I have a set of tibetan prayer flags that hang above my window.  These two concepts would appear to be totally unrelated, but I’ve decided to merge them and attempt to crochet prayer flags.

Based on the research I did today my flags are not traditional- I have one strand of lotus and another strand of a variety of symbols.  Even though it wouldn’t be authentic, I think a string of crocheted lotus flags would be pretty and potentially spiritual.  While searching for crochet lotus patterns I recalled the entrelac circle pattern I had seen which I think could easily become a lotus using the correct colors:
tunisian entrelac in the round
Perhaps I will try this pattern in single crochet, especially since that will make it easier to transition from entrelac circle to traditional crochet square to finish off the flag.  Plus, this is a great excuse to buy more yarn!  The flags come in 5 colors and a lotus can be white, pink, red or blue depending on what it symbolizes.

What would you like to hear more about on this blog?
Entry filed under: Products. Tags: , , .

5 Things Friday Building Blocks: Constructing a Wide Shelf

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ria's Crochet  |  May 24, 2011 at 6:59 am

    I love the vase, and would love to see the bag when it’s finished too! Shoot, now you’ve put more projects in my head, lol. I also loved your macrame bracelets posted previously. So many things to create, so little time!

    Reply
  • 2. tintedgreencrafts  |  May 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Thanks for stopping by! I’m excited with how the vase turned out since I had no idea what to do with that piece at first. Photos of the bag coming soon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 8 other followers

Calendar

May 2011
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter Updates

  • Working on my 6th hat in as many days. No, I'm not desperately cold, but making hats for chemo patients. Anyone know of a donation center? 5 years ago
  • Fresh, local, picked by me apples + caramel sauce = perfect start to a long weekend 5 years ago
  • Weekend Accomplishment: twitpic.com/6qpz0t 5 years ago
  • Just made some bulk bin bags (this pattern: bit.ly/pbrAuH) now heading to the store to try them out! 5 years ago
  • My slightly ruffled crochet circle is becoming increasingly ruffled with each round. I should have predicted this. Time to cry and undo 5 years ago
  • Just updated my shop (TintedGreen.etsy.com) for the first time in ages. Trying to get motivated to be back in the business. Hello, fall. #fb 5 years ago
  • The circular afghan I'm crocheting has gone slightly hyperbolic (rippling at the edges and won't lie flat). Pretending that was on purpose. 5 years ago