The Felted Bowl Saga

May 16, 2011 at 6:00 pm Leave a comment

I am new to felting, so far I’ve felted two things.  The first time I tried I sort of followed a bag pattern, then read a little bit about felting and jumped right in.  And it worked great!  I’d made a small clutch, just the size of a short drinking glass, in a nice wool yarn.  Then I stuck it in ice water, boiled it several minutes, ‘agitated’ it (using classic yellow dishwashing gloves), repeated a few times and then blocked the whole thing around a couple glasses (one for the bag and another for the handle).  Everything worked exactly as expected aside from a slight burn on my palms (felted wool really holds onto the boiling water!).

Impressed with the ease of this new technique, I set about to make a felted bowl.  I’d seen a pattern for a really cute knit bowl in a flower shape, but I wanted to crochet it.  Not to worry, I’ve made plenty of double crochet circles, I can make a bowl.  After a few tries with the petals I had a nice looking but slightly floppy bowl, I thought the felting would solve the floppy problem, not so much.  I started out just felting with ice water/boiling water like before.  It amused my audience (I was visiting my parents house for Easter weekend) but resulted in an almost flat piece of fabric that wasn’t very well felted.  Still feeling somewhat hopeful I set it in a bowl to dry overnight and hopefully regain its shape.

The next day I could clearly see that it would flatten with even the least bit of pressure, so I thought I would look up some fabric stiffeners.  One homemade recipe just involved watered down glue.  With renewed enthusiasm I painted some on and put it back in the bowl to dry again.  A few hours later I checked back to see that little had changed, if only it looked nice when flat I would have quit there and sold it as a trivet.

Finally, I decided to try putting it through the washer/dryer on hot with a full load of laundry to get as much felting as possible.  I didn’t think it would do much, but it was my last hope.  I’m not sure whether it was the washing or drying or combination of both, but at the end of both cycles it was finally felted!  The only problem was it had dried with a crease…  Not wanting to wet it completely to risk undoing all of my progress, I steamed the crease and massaged it back into a smooth curve.

All in all I crocheted, iced, boiled, agitated, glued, washed, dried and steamed this bit of wool.  It was an awful lot of drama for one bowl.  Next time I’ll just use double strands or single crochet!

This item is available for purchase now!  Felted Red Flower Bowl (Crochet).

Entry filed under: Products. Tags: , , .

Salem Etsians Treasury Tuesday: Birthday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 8 other followers

Calendar

May 2011
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter Updates

  • Working on my 6th hat in as many days. No, I'm not desperately cold, but making hats for chemo patients. Anyone know of a donation center? 5 years ago
  • Fresh, local, picked by me apples + caramel sauce = perfect start to a long weekend 5 years ago
  • Weekend Accomplishment: twitpic.com/6qpz0t 5 years ago
  • Just made some bulk bin bags (this pattern: bit.ly/pbrAuH) now heading to the store to try them out! 5 years ago
  • My slightly ruffled crochet circle is becoming increasingly ruffled with each round. I should have predicted this. Time to cry and undo 5 years ago
  • Just updated my shop (TintedGreen.etsy.com) for the first time in ages. Trying to get motivated to be back in the business. Hello, fall. #fb 5 years ago
  • The circular afghan I'm crocheting has gone slightly hyperbolic (rippling at the edges and won't lie flat). Pretending that was on purpose. 5 years ago